Daily life in PST

The most mundane thing I could write about: my daily existence here in Namaacha. This post is dedicated to my mother and all those interested in the logistical aspects of my current life.

5:40 Attempt to wake up. Roll around in bed contemplating the misery of alarms that ring before sunrise.

5:50 Actually wake up. Get dressed quickly and mostly in the dark.

6:00 Make a fire. This is quite possibly the most important part of my morning because it heats our bath water…warm showers are the real MVP. Reference my post on fire building for all the gritty details.

6:15 Sweep the quintal or wash dishes from the previous night, depending on which activity my mãe chooses to do that morning.

6:50(ish) Morning bucket bath with views of Swaziland and South Africa

7:10 Eat breakfast in a panic in an attempt to be on time for lingua class

7:20 Run out of the house to make it to lingua on time. Get summoned back into the house by my mãe because I forgot my lanche (snack)

7:30 Lingua (Portuguese lessons) with 3 other volunteers and our Mozambican professor. The location changes each week between our homes.

9:40 This is where things start to get hairy. The schedule changes daily around this time from now until lunch, but it’s typically either more lingua or Technical sessions by PCV’s or guest speakers

12:30 Lunch at home

13:30 (because I use 24 hour time now…math is hard and the struggle is real) Technical sessions at the Hub, the central gathering location for training. These are typically presented by current PCVs or guest speakers and focus on anything from the healthcare system in-country, to professional and organizational development, to HIV/AIDS treatment and prevention. The list goes on.

17:00 Finish with scheduled activities for day. Typically head home at this point.

17:30 Help with dinner (as of right now we’ll use the word “help” loosely as most days it is fairly synonymous with “watch”)

18:30 Shower before dinner. This is a hard and fast rule in my house, with the rare exception of bathing after dinner if you’re too tired or waiting until the morning if it’s too cold.

19:00 Chiquititas is on! Kidding, we sit down to eat at/around this time. But the kids’ Brazilian TV show is always on during dinner and everyone (and I mean everyone, even the volunteers) loves it.

20:30 Bedtime. I am, quite embarrassingly, exhausted by this time every day. I help Esther clear what’s left on the table and head to my room for the night.

Leave a Reply

